Wednesday, August 7, 2013

Story's End by Marissa Burt Book Review



STORY’S END (HarperCollins, 4/2/2013)
Ages: 8-12   Trade ISBN: 9780062020543

Inkheart meets The Neverending Story in the sweeping sequel to Storybound. A deadly Enemy has returned to the magical land of Story—and twelve-year-old Una Fairchild may hold the key to defeating him.

Long ago, a King ruled the land of Story....During his reign, Heroes, Villains, and characters of all kinds lived out Tales filled with daring quests and epic struggles. Then the King disappeared, and over the years nearly everyone forgot that he had ever existed.

Now an evil Enemy has emerged, determined to write a new future for Story. And an ordinary girl from our world named Una Fairchild must find a way to defeat him. 



Una and her friends Indy and Peter set off on a quest for answers, facing warlocks, beasts, and enchantments at every turn. But Una soon discovers that the real key lies in her own mysterious ties to Story’s past—and to the long-forgotten King who may be their only hope for survival.




Storybound has been praised by Kirkus Reviews for its “richly imagined world” and by Publishers Weekly as “an appealing fantasy with strong writing and interesting characters.” Story’s End is filled with the same breathtaking action, heartwarming friendship, and timeless appeal. Readers will leap at the chance to return to this captivating fairy-tale world, which is perfect for fans of Inkheart, Gail Carson Levine, and classics like A Wrinkle in Time.


My Review:

I am one of those people who have been waiting an entire year for this book to come out!  In fact, I read Storybound when it was free on Harper Collins website last April and I read the whole book on my computer!  I was hooked and loved it so much that I purchased a hardback book for myself!  So when Story's End came out, it was long over-due for this huge fan of Marissa Burt!  The world of story is everything and more that you can imagine about fairy tales and books!  
If you loved Storybound, then you will love Story's End!  This series is amazing and the adventures continue with Una, Peter and Indy.  The land of Story is a unique place where all kids will want to imagine themselves!  The action and suspense are all there and the question remains whether or not Story can be saved or if The End will come!  Scenarios I never imagined occurred and the ending will not be at all what you expected!  Characters have to decide once and for all whose side they are on and whether or not they will be a hero!  A fabulous conclusion to the story, this series is truly what any middle grader on up will love to read!  

Rating:  Middle grade/action/fantasy


You can pick up your own copy via Amazon.






Author Bio

About the author: Marissa Burt was forever getting notes sent home from teachers about reading novels during class.  She grew up in Oregon, and drifted eastward through Colorado, Illinois, Tennessee, and South Carolina before coming back to the Pacific Northwest.  She now lives in the Seattle area with her husband and three sons.  You can visit Marissa online at www.marissaburt.com


Source:  I received a copy from the author, I was under no obligation to review.  I would have purchased this book anyway!

No comments:

Post a Comment